Tags

, , , ,

So my previous post on being mostly invisible mainly hit the downsides: (almost) hit by cars (which this week almost happened twice while I was walking … in broad daylight), crazy people, and lost people. After re-reading it, I thought I clearly didn’t give a balance perspective on my so-called almost super power. So here’s the upside to being mostly invisible.

First, I’m your average Jane. Average height, average hair color, average intelligence (just smart enough to get into trouble), average looking. This all plays into my mostly invisibleness. The one great thing I have going for me is that I look quite a bit younger than I actually am. Most people are lucky to come within 5 years of my actual age.

So what, you may be asking, is the upside?

The upside is that being so average, young-looking, and mostly invisible, people don’t really pay me much attention. I can slip in and around almost any conversation and people don’t stop talking, no matter what they’re saying because they either A) don’t see me or B) don’t think I’m any kind of threat because I’m a young woman. Young women = mostly harmless.

Why does that matter? It matters because it means that I would make the perfect spy.

In fact, I often daydream about being a spy. Not the Michael Weston type with the weapons, military training, and McGyver-esque tricks. More of the intelligence gathering,  top secret stealing, corporate espionage kind.

So when people nearly run me over despite the fact I’m on the sidewalk (yes, someone actually ran their car up on the sidewalk this week), I just grin and think, I could take down an entire country from the secrets I could learn from being mostly invisible. This makes me then giggle, and that’s when people notice me, and then proceed to steer clear.

It’s a win-win.