Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My fellow #StartExp blogger Amy had this on her very cool blog, Many the Miles. I thought it was a really neat idea, so I decided to steal embrace the idea.

These are questions that I haven’t written about and are not on my AboutMe profile. So, here are 6 things you might not know about me:

1) Is my life how I imagined it would be?

Interesting question, mainly because when I was child/teen, I really never had a good idea of what my life might look like. Oh, there were always things I wanted to try and do, but I never thought, “gee, I hope my life turns out this specific way.” In fact, I always envied my fellow classmates who had dreams of becoming a doctor or a teacher, and wanted two kids or three kids and live in Charlotte, NC or NYC, etc. My thoughts were more like, “gee, I like writing” or “gee, I really want to go to college.” But no ideas on specific goals or the like.

In fact, my first summer after college, I had a number of people surprised that I wasn’t in music school or art school or some other specific place. Apparently, other people had ideas for me. But I’m too interested in too many things. In fact, it took me a year and a half to finally pick a major, and I ended up picking two because I couldn’t decide. (I would’ve picked three, but the college wouldn’t let me. Silly college made me finish the two I’d already picked first.)

And I never thought about marriage, or kids, or mortgages. About the only thing I had a definite idea about was wanting to own a dog and a horse. So I’m 50-50 there, or maybe it should be 2:1 since I did get adopted by a cat.

Dexter decided I had not been paying enough attention to him and he butted in between me and the computer.

Dexter decided I had not been paying enough attention to him and he butted in between me and the computer.

A few days later, Teddy decided he must do the same thing.

A few days later, Teddy decided he must do the same thing.

But since I never had a concrete picture in my head of what my life should look like, I’m always pleasantly surprised when I look back at all the things I have been able to do. I like to think that by not committing to one specific picture of what my life should be, I’ve allowed myself more opportunities to experience life and adventure.

2) Do I collect anything?

Yep. Souvenir magnets, quotes, and coins.

I’m not very good about the magnets. I get places and get caught up in exploring that I forget to get a souvenir magnet, but I do have a nice collection.

Magnets

My quote collection is quite large. I have numerous pages in Word, a smattering written in multiple journals, and a fairly large Pinterest board of sayings & quotes. I don’t have a particular favorite quote, but here are a few that really hit home for me:

I am still learning. Michelangelo, at age 87

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be. Douglas Adams

The cure for anything is salt water - sweat, tears, or the sea.
 Isak Dinesen

Without music, life would be a mistake. Friedrich Nietzsche

Two roads diverged in the wood, and I - I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference. Robert Frost

Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition. Monty Python

There is no beautifier of complexion, or form, or behavior, like the wish to scatter job and not pain around us. Ralph Waldo Emerson

As for my coin collection, I’m most proud of it. I have coins from all over western Europe, pre-Euro, a few Latin American coins, and coins from Asia. (And a huge THANK YOU to Janice and Linda who greatly helped increase my collection!) I also have a spiffy wheat penny collection (thanks to my mom), as well as all 50 states quarters (both Denver & Philly mints), and a good start on the state parks quarters. My coins are housed in flips in two 3″ binders, as well as three speciality Dansco albums (check them out at my fave online store), 2 state quarter albums, and a couple special coins. Sadly, I am in a one-bedroom right now and don’t have the room to keep them out.

If you have any foreign coins you’d be willing to part with, I’m always looking to add to my collection. Just contact me by using the form on my ME page.

3) Favorite dessert?

My first choice is the dark chocolate almond raspberry disc from Chocolate Fetish in Asheville, North Carolina. They make the bestest treats.

My second choice, as of this past Saturday, is coconut ice cream from Gunther’s Ice Cream in Sacramento. Too yummy and really delicious with chocolate ice cream. It’s like the ice cream version of a mounds bar.

4) What is my signature style?

Ideally, jeans, a tee and flip flops with minimal to no make-up and a wash and go haircut. That’s my style – casual and easy. And that combo is what you’ll see me in most outside of the office. And I just found a new new flip flop that I love – Sanuk’s Yoga Mats, made from real yoga mats, and feels like stepping on a yoga mat.

I can go spiffy, formal, or business. Sadly, I chose a profession that loves the stuffy business suit. But at the end of the day, I’d rather be in jeans.

5) What is my biggest struggle in life?

Ah, this is an easy one. Eating healthy. I hate to cook and love “easy” dinners, which means I eat out too much. I’m really trying to work on this.

So if you have any easy recipes, and by easy, I mean quick prep times, please send them my way. I don’t have a microwave, so I’m trying to do experiment with oven cooking. I’m partial to foil packets. Easy prep, shove it in the oven and forget about it until the buzzer dings, and voila! A complete dinner.

6) Something that I really want to do before my next birthday?

Since I’m new to California, I really want to go to Muir Woods, to see the beautiful redwoods, and Yosemite, to see the giant sequoias. Since my birthday is still five months away, there’s a very good chance I’ll check these places off the list before then.

***

So, that’s a bit more about me. But it shouldn’t be all about me. Let’s here from you.
Here are some questions for you:

What do you love to do in your free time?
What is your favorite music, food, dessert, or book?
What do you do for fun?
Where is one place you want to visit?
What is your biggest dream?
What’s holding you back from achieving your dream?

Either answer in the comments below or leave a link to your blog. And again, a big thanks to Amy for sharing the idea of the 6 Questions.