Tags

, , , , , , , ,

***This is not the post I intended for today,
but this is the post that wanted to be written.***

Today I had a dog day, where I took Dexter to the dog park and just hung out, throwing the ball occasionally, but mostly just enjoying the gorgeous day while Dexter ran around with his ball, also enjoying the day.

See, isn't it a nice day?

See, isn’t it a nice day?

After two months in California, I am still unemployed (although things are looking up), but I am happier than I ever have been. As I thought about that, it occurred to me how during my college years through my late twenties, I always worried about time. I worried about tomorrow, next week, next month, next year. I worried whether I had enough time to complete all my goals. I worried if I had enough time to complete my projects. I worried so much about the future that I failed to enjoy the moments.

Now that I’m older, I understand the importance of enjoying the moment and allowing tomorrow worry about itself. I live each day as it comes, and don’t worrying about whether I’ll have an interview tomorrow or next week or next month. I simply savor today. I watch my pets play. I drink in the sun. I even take time to cook. All things that before I would have missed because I would be rushing from here to there, too worried about time.

This doesn’t mean I don’t have goals or plans. It doesn’t mean I’m not actively pursuing my dreams. And it certainly doesn’t mean that I never worry. What it does mean is that I don’t waste time worrying over the things I cannot control, like the future or other people. I plan for the future. I set goals that will be completed in the future. But I don’t worry about it.

Several times in To Kill a Mockingbird (both a fabulous book and movie), Atticus Finch advises his children, “It’s not time to worry yet.” It reminds me of an old adage I grew up hearing, “Don’t go borrowing trouble.” Well, that’s exactly what worrying about tomorrow or next week does. It creates troubles – troubles that don’t even exist and may never exist!

That recipe you pinned on your Pinterest ‘to try’ board weeks ago, go make it!

So my advice is stop worrying about the things you cannot control. If you can’t control it, then it’s not time to worry yet. So instead of worrying, my challenge to you is to enjoy the moment. Go sit in a park and watch the world, savor that book you’ve been waiting to read, drink in the late summer weather, and tomorrow will take care of itself.