Tags

, , , , ,

start_exp_email_header

Yesterday, Friday, August 23, marked day 12 of 24 of the #StartExp. And so far, I’ve done 12 posts (13 counting today’s). Right on track.

Now, not all 12 are literary genius. (Okay, honestly, none of them are.) But the point is that I said I was going to write a post a day, and so far, I have. (You can view the the past 12, plus more, here.)

The point of the experiment was to punch fear in the face. What are were my fears?

1) Well, the first really wasn’t a fear so much as an excuse. I didn’t think I had enough to say. (My mother is laughing out loud right now at this because she thinks I have too much to say.) But talking, the 2-way communication that flows and changes, is a bit different than writing.

How have I tackled this? Primarily, by paying attention to what happens throughout my day, and considering whether I find it interesting. Yes, interesting to me. Because if I’m not interested in it, no one else will be. So I pay more attention and consider whether something is interesting or comedic. Sometimes I’ve found the interesting in the most mundane places.

Second, I’ve had to remember long enough to get it written down. Thankfully, smart phones have all sorts of apps for that.

I also take more time to read other bloggers’ sites primarily to compare writing styles, but also to see what other folks are writing about. There are almost 70,000,000 WordPress (WP) sites, so I have a nice variety.

2) My actual fear was publicizing my blog, particularly to friends and family. As I’ve learned from the #StartExp Bloggers’ group, this is a very common fear. I read more than once that most bloggers would rather share with complete strangers than share their blogs with the people closest to them. This fear is all about rejection. Rejection from strangers = meh. Rejection from friends = terrifying. But at the end of the day, nobody likes rejection, and it is a powerful fear.

How did I tackle this? I created a Facebook page for my blog, used WP to automatically publish the day’s post on the FB page. Then I shared my FB page and each new posts on my personal timeline. In the 5 days that the page has been active (Aug 19-23) I have 31 likes, of which 13 of them are friends and family. Pretty darn awesome!

'Like' NDC's FB page

‘Like’ NDC’s FB page

I’ve also spent some time cross-pollinating. Putting my website on my Twitter, Google +, Pinterest, Tumblr, and other social media sites. Linking my Twitter account to WP so WP will automatically tweet any new blog posts. Creating a Pinterest board just for NDC. I read a lot of other blogs, but I never really commented. So, I’ve taken more time to leave meaningful comments on those posts that I find interesting or poignant, which then leaves my digital signature (i.e., my blog).

So, now I’m asking for your support. How can you help, you ask? Basically, show NDC some love! How to support NDC:

  • Join NDC’s Tribe (just click the ‘Sign me up!’ button on the left-hand side of this page);
  • Share your fave posts with your friends via the share buttons at the end of each post;
  • Like NDC’s FB page (simply click ‘Like” on the left-hand side under “Like NDC’s Facebook Page”);
  • Share your favorite NDC FB post(s) with your friends;
  • Leave a comment on any, or all, the posts!

Other options can include:

  • Follow NDC on Bloglovin’ – an easy way to view all your fave blogs;
  • Follow me on Twitter (just click the “Follow @bluesnowkat” button on the left-hand side);
  • Not a Twitter or FB user, no worries! Follow NDC on Tumblr and/or Pinterest.

Screen Shot 2013-08-24 at 7.34.59 AMScreen Shot 2013-08-24 at 7.37.38 AM

And look for 11 more daily posts (this one is #13). After the 24 days of the #StartExp ends, I probably won’t post daily, as it does take a lot of time and effort, and I have some other things coming up that need my time too. But I plan to post at least 3 times a week, including the weekly Wednesday “This Week’s Book Pile.”

So enjoy! And THANKS for reading!